Regret! Wins EFA Young Audience Award 2014

Setbezoek Spijt!Youth juries in 17 European cities elect Dutch film by Dave Schram.

In a truly European vote, more than 1,000 12-14-year-olds in Aalborg (Denmark), Barcelona (Spain), Belgrade (Serbia), Bratislava (Slovakia), Budapest (Hungary), Cluj-Napoca (Romania), Erfurt (Germany), Izola (Slovenia), London (UK), Prizren (Kosovo), Riga (Latvia), Sofia (Bulgaria), Stockholm (Sweden), Tbilisi (Georgia), Tel Aviv (Israel), Valletta (Malta) and Wroclaw (Poland) have elected Regret! (Spijt!) (2013) by Dave Schram (the Netherlands) as the winner of the European Film Academy Young Audience Award 2014.

Having watched the three nominated films on today’s Young Audience Film Day, the young cinema-lovers across Europe had the opportunity to discuss the films before electing their favourite. The results were then reported live via video conference to Erfurt (Germany) where Polish actor Maciej Stuhr moderated the awards ceremony transmitted online as a live stream. The German jury speakers Emma and Elias presented the award to director Dave Schram who thanked the audience and expressed his hope that the film may help to do something against bullying.

In its third year, this special initiative was realised with a network of the following nine partners: BFI British Film Institute, Centre for Educational Resources (Denmark), DokuFest (Kosovo), EducaTIFF (Romania), Film Center Serbia, Filmoteca de Catalunya (Spain), Georgian National Film Center, German Children’s Media Foundation GOLDEN SPARROW, Hungarian National Film Fund, Maltese Ministry for Tourism (Culture Directorate), National Film Centre of Latvia, New Horizons Association (Poland), Otok – Institute for the Development of Film Culture (Slovenia), Sofia International Film Festival (Bulgaria), Swedish Film Institute, Tel Aviv Cinematheque (Israel) and Visegrad Film Forum (Slovakia).

The European Film Academy Young Audience Award is organized and presented by the European Film Academy and EFA Productions with the support of the Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (MDM). The national Young Audience Film Day events were organised with the support of the respective national partners.

2 thoughts on “Regret! Wins EFA Young Audience Award 2014”

Leave a Reply