Cinema Awards News: Jury Unveils First Six EFA Winners

efa-press-releaseAwards for Cinematography, Editing, Design, Costumes, Music & Sound

The European Film Academy announces the first winners who will be honoured at this year’s 26th European Film Awards. A special seven-member jury convened in Berlin and, based on the EFA Selection list, decided on the winners in the categories cinematography, editing, production design, costume design, composer and sound design. This new addition to the awards procedures follows a decision of the EFA Board to draw more attention to the awards recipients in these categories. The European Film Academy congratulates the following awards recipients:

European Cinematographer 2013 – Prix Carlo di Palma:Asaf Sudry
for LEMALE ET HA’HALAL (Fill the Void)
Israel…for his intuitive camerawork, both realistic and poetic, studying the characters with tenderness in an environment unknown to most of us – by sensitively lighting them he provides us with deep insight into their psychology and emotions.
European Editor 2013:Cristiano Travaglioli
for LA GRANDE BELLEZZA (The Great Beauty)
Italy/France…for an editing which continuously stimulates the senses and creates a weave of endless meanings in the storytelling.
European Production Designer 2013:Sarah Greenwood
UK…for a production design that acts as if it were a character itself – dramaturgically integrated and contributing essentially to the film’s story and style.
European Costume Designer 2013:Paco Delgado
Spain/France…for a costume design combining meticulous research of Spanish tradition and craft with the freedom of a gothic fairy tale.
European Composer 2013:Ennio Morricone
Italy…for proving once again his extraordinary capacity of always renewing his style while remaining faithful to the style of the director and the film – a universal composer, indeed, and a true master.
European Sound Designer 2013:Matz Müller & Erik Mischijew
for PARADIES: GLAUBE (Paradise: Faith)
Austria/Germany/France…for creating a sound design, pure and radical – like a music score that transforms every day sound into a composition.
The members of the jury were:
Tuomas Kantelinen, composer, Finland Francesco Ranieri Martinotti, director/producer, Italy
Karel Och, festival programmer, Czech Republic Simón de Santiago Aréizaga, producer, Spain
Hervé Schneid, editor, France Marek Septimus Wieser, cinematographer, Sweden
Jasmila Zbanic, director, Bosnia & Herzegovina
The nominations in the categories European Film, Comedy, Director, Screenwriter, Actress and Actor will be announced on 9 November at the Seville European Film Festival.The members of the European Film Academy, more than 2,900 European film professionals, will then vote for the winners and all awards recipients will receive their EFA Statuette during the 26th European Film Awards Ceremony. Taking place at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele in Berlin on Saturday, 7 December, the event will be streamed live on

One thought on “Cinema Awards News: Jury Unveils First Six EFA Winners”

Leave a Reply