European Film Awards: Cinema Stars From Across Europe

efa-press-releaseWhen the 26th European Film Awards return to Berlin on 7 December, there will be an impressive line-up of European stars – the actors and actresses who will present the individual awards. A true Spanish fiesta will see Elena Anaya, Carlos Areces, Raúl Arévalo, Javier Cámara, Rossy de Palma, Hugo Silva, Miguel Ángel Silvestre, Blanca Suárez, Paz Vega and Leonor Watling.

They will be joined by their colleagues Arta Dobroshi (LORNA’S SILENCE), Karoline Herfurth (THE READER), Carice van Houten (BLACK BOOK), Diane Kruger (TROY), Christophe Lambert (HIGHLANDER), Noomi Rapace (THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO), Kristin Scott Thomas (THE ENGLISH PATIENT) and Jasmine Trinca (MIELE), directors Agnieszka Holland, Volker Schlöndorff (deputy chairman, EFA Board), and Wim Wenders (EFA President), as well as Dieter Kosslick, director of the Berlin IFF.

The films nominated in the category ‘European Film’ will be introduced by the following patrons: Adèle Exarchopoulos (BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOUR), Iaia Forte (THE GREAT BEAUTY), Johann Heldenbergh (THE BROKEN CIRCLE BREAKDOWN), Sylvia Hoeks (THE BEST OFFER), Friederike Kempter (OH BOY) and Angela Molina (BLANCANIEVES).

The ceremony will also include the members of the jury Tuomas Kantelinen (composer, Finland), Francesco Ranieri Martinotti (director/producer, Italy), Karel Och (festival organiser Karlovy Vary IFF, Czech Republic), Simón de Santiago Aréizaga (producer, Spain), Hervé Schneid (editor, France), Marek Septimus Wieser (cinematographer, Sweden) and Jasmila Žbaniĉ (director, Bosnia & Herzegovina).

The 900 guests – winners, nominees and EFA Members – at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele will once again be welcomed by German comedy star Anke Engelke who will lead through the evening as the show’s host.

Carice van Houten will perform live with her band and Hans Nieswandt will provide the acoustic backdrop for the evening. Together with Eric D. Clark, with whom he made the unforgettable no. 1 hit From: Disco To Disco, he will also get the dance-floor packed at the party while DJ TripleGym will fill the lounge with music.

Among the guests this year will also be the German actors and actresses Moritz Bleibtreu, Hanna Herzsprung, Julia Jentsch, Ulrich Matthes, Katja Riemann and Maria Schrader, as well as the EU Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, Androulla Vassiliou, the Governing Mayor of Berlin, Klaus Wowereit, and the recipients of the honorary awards Catherine Deneuve and Pedro Almodóvar.

Leave a Reply