European Film Academy Releases Nominees for EFA Young Audience Award 2014

transformYoung juries in 17 cities across Europe will vote for winner

The European Film Academy proudly announces and congratulates the three nominees for the EFA Young Audience Award 2014:

  The Contest
DIRECTED BY: Martin Miehe-Renard
WRITTEN BY: Martin Miehe-Renard, Gitte Løkkegaard & Hans Hansen
PRODUCED BY: Henrik Møller-Sørensen & Marcella Dichmann
90 mins, Denmark
DIRECTED BY: Dave Schram
WRITTEN BY: Maria Peters & Dick van den Heuvel
PRODUCED BY:  Dave Schram, Maria Peters & Hans Pos
95 mins, The Netherlands
DIRECTED BY: Katja von Garnier

WRITTEN BY: Kristina Magdalena Henn & Lea Schmidbauer
PRODUCED BY: Ewa Karlström & Andreas Ulmke-Smeaton
103 mins, Germany

The nominations were chosen by a committee consisting of Margret Albers, Deutsche Kindermedienstiftung Goldener Spatz (Germany), Michal Matus, Tel Aviv International Children’s Film Festival (Israel), Jan Naszewski, New Europe Film Sales (Poland) and Eszter Vuojala, Oulu International Children’s Film Festival (Finland).

On Young Audience Film Day on 4 May, the three nominated films will be screened to a audiences of 12 – 14 year-olds in 17 cities across Europe: Aalborg (Denmark), Barcelona (Spain), Belgrade (Serbia), Bratislava (Slovakia), Budapest (Hungary), Cluj-Napoca (Romania), Erfurt (Germany), Izola (Slovenia), London (UK), Prizren (Kosovo), Riga (Latvia), Sofia (Bulgaria), Stockholm (Sweden), Tbilisi (Georgia), Tel Aviv (Israel), Valletta (Malta) and Wroclaw (Poland). And it is the young audience that will act as a jury and vote for the winner right after the screenings. In a truly European vote, jury speakers will then transmit the national results live via video conference to Erfurt (Germany) where the winner will be announced in an award ceremony streamed live on a special website that offers further information about the nominated films and the participating cities.

This year’s third edition of the EFA Young Audience Award is realised with a network of the following partners: BFI British Film Institute, Centre for Educational Resources (Denmark), DokuFest (Kosovo), EducaTIFF (Romania), Film Center Serbia, Filmoteca de Catalunya (Spain), German Children’s Media Foundation GOLDEN SPARROW, Hungarian National Film Fund, Maltese Ministry for Tourism (Culture Directorate), National Film Centre of Latvia, New Horizons Association (Poland), Noosfera Foundation (Georgia), Otok – Institute for the Development of Film Culture (Slovenia), Sofia International Film Festival (Bulgaria), Swedish Film Institute, Tel Aviv Cinematheque (Israel) and Visegrad Film Forum (Slovakia).

The European Film Academy Young Audience Award is organized and presented by the European Film Academy and EFA Productions with the support of the Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (MDM). The national Young Audience Film Day events will be organised with the support of the respective national partners. 

2 thoughts on “European Film Academy Releases Nominees for EFA Young Audience Award 2014”

Leave a Reply